Each year, the Affiliate Societies Council of Dayton recognizes outstanding engineers and scientists in the Miami Valley. These engineers and scientists are honored for important contributions to their professions and to their organizations at the Annual Awards Banquet. For many years, this awards event was held in April. Due to conflicts between the TechFest program and the many preparations for the awards program, the banquet has been moved to October.

We now invite nominations for this award from Miami Valley companies, educational institutions, government organizations, professional societies and individuals. Selections are made by the Awards Committee in cooperation with the member societies.

The 58th Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony will be held in the Meyer Room at the University of Dayton's River Campus, 1700 Patterson Blvd. (map) on Tuesday, October 10, 2017. The 2016 ASC Awardees are listed at the right. The awards program booklet has the list of all recipients since 1971.  Click here for the 2016 Awards Program booklet.

Nominations for the 2017 ASC Outstanding Engineer and Scientist Award are now being accepted. Submissions must be in MS Word attachments. ALL completed nomination materials must arrive via email by 4:00 PM Monday, August 14, 2017, at


The 2017 invitation letter, nomination guidelines and nomination form and are provided below. Early submission is recommended.

ASC Letter inviting Nominations-2017

ASC Nomination Guidelines-2017

ASC Nomination Form-2017

Please complete the pdf form on-line and submit the form by email as early as possible; however, a copy must be included with your nomination materials. Please save a copy of all materials for your records.

ASC is a 501(c)(3) public charity and all programs are carried out by volunteers. Banquet attendance, sponsors and donations help cover the cost of meals for the awardees and spouses, award plaques, program printing, reception and other costs. We need these financial resources without which this awards program cannot continue.

2016 Affiliate Society Council of Dayton Outstanding Engineers & Scientists Awardees

Awards Category
Awardee's Societies

Alireza R. Behbahani, Ph.D.
Senior Research Aerospace Engineer
Turbine Engine Division
Computational Science Branch
Air Force Research Laboratory
Kenneth O. Busby, Ph.D.
Senior Research Scientist
Universal Technology Corporation
Subhashini Ganapathy, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor
Dept. of Computer Science & Engineering  
Wright State University
Wendy J. Goodson, Ph.D.
Leader, Bio-Materials Research Team
Soft Materials Branch  
Air Force Research Laboratory
Raymond R. Hill, , Ph.D.
Professor of Operations Reserach
Dept. of Operational Sciences  
Air Force Institute of Technology
Brian D. Rigling, Ph. D.
Professor & Chair, Electrical Engineering
Director, Sensor Systems Research
Wright State University
Jeffrey M. Stricker
Chief Technologist
Turbine Engine Research & Development
Universal Technology Corporation
Charles J. Cross, Ph.D.
Technical Leadership
Chief, Turbine Engine Division
Air Force Research Laboratory
Walter E. Johnson
Technical Leadership
Senior Materials Engineer
Materials & Manufacturing Directorate  
Air Force Research Laboratory
Nancy Kelley-Loughnane, Ph.D.
Technical Leadership
Bio-sciences Technical Advisor
711th Human Performance Wing  
Air Force Resarch Laboratory  
Michael L. Lander
Technical Leadership
Program Manager for Manufacturing Technology
Universal Technology Corporation  
Douglas C. Hansen, Ph.D.
Corrosion Control
Senior Scientist & Group Leader
University of Dayton Research Institute  
2016 Awards Committee
Dr. Raymond Gordnier, AFRL/RABC
Ms. Connie Muncy, CTC
Mr. Larrell Walters, Head, Sensor Systems, UDRI, and Director, IDCAST
Dr. Wink Bennett, Division Technical Advisor for Training and Readiness Research, AFRL
Mr. Thomas Kramer, LJB, Inc.
Dr. Andrew Sarangan, Electro-Optics, UD
Mr. Warren Brown, Chair, Inst. for Safety & Health Managers
Mr. Carlos Arana, Chief, Turbine Engine Systems Branch, AFRL
Dr. Joseph Pellettiere, Chief Scientist & Technical Advisor for Crash Dynamics, FAA
*Affiliate Societies Council, Inc. is an Ohio Corporation; a non-profit, tax-exempt 501(c)(3) Public Charity